I almost forgot about the quote for the day! Today's is, "Before you critcize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them, you will be a mile away and have their shoes!"

Okay, so running is pretty fun. I kinda like it, in a strange way. Anywho...I'm sure it's obvious that I just returned home from the Y. My mom wanted to get a couple fitness tests done, so she and I did that...and we were both happy, because she and I are pretty darn fit. Above average, actually, and in some places off the charts (such as in flexibility and strength endurance, I think). And our body fat is better than the average woman's. Haha! Take that, you stupid high school "fitness tests". You don't know JACK! :P (That was always a fun game....ever played You Don't Know Jack?)

Heh...I'm in a good mood, in case it isn't already apparent. Except for the slight boredom factor for today, it's been a fabulous day. Actually, the last couple of weeks have been pretty fabulous except for a few minor things. I'm patching things up with my friends, I'm gaining new, kick-ass friends, I'm a lot more fit than what I had guessed, I have the perfect boyfriend, a stellar family, and no more stalkers! GWUAHA! It's all peachy. Well, except for the fact that I am sweaty and smell bad right now. But that's all right, I'm down in my room where no one has to smell me anyway. But really...ew. I think I'm going to take a nice long bath before I go to bed...yes, that sounds nice.

I was supposed to go to Nikki's on Thursday to tryout for the role of leadsinger in their band, but I can't now because I have to watch Landon. So I might have to do it next week or something. I have "Polly" down pretty well now, so if I don't take NIkki's spot as lead singer I will at least be backup I know. That'll be kewl in itself. I want to learn to play an instrument, too. another thing to save money for.

You know, according to my friend Casey duct tape is a man's best friend. Why? Well, there are numerous reasons. I will give you three example reasons, and let you come up with any others on your own.

1. It, of course, fixes virtually everything. just slap a little duct tape on there and you are set to go for a few hours. Yes siree.

2. Don't like someone? Well just put duct tape around their head, by golly, and they will be in some pain when they try and rip that stuff off. I've had it happen, and let me tell you that it is no walk in the park.

3. Duct tape is the "new handcuffs". No, not for police. I think you know what I mean.

Those are the reasons Casey gave me. There are many more, I'm sure. I'm interested in hearing what other people think, as well. Just for some creative answers. So if you have one, no matter how cheezy you think it is, leave me a note or e-mail me and your answer will be featured in my diary XD

Now, back to writing for my own purposes and not your amusement :P

I have come to the conclusion that I don't much care for science or the logical truth. I'll start with science, shall I? It ruins everything. Yes, it is wonderful to know how things work and to be able to mold and create things, but really. Once you know the scientific reasoning behind everything, it just doesn't seem...magical anymore. Examples:

1. Stars. When you're little, you think you know what a star is. It's a little 5-pointed light in the sky, right? And ancient civilizations had stories for the stars, as they did for all things in nature. The stories are full of deceit and sorrow, or love and happiness, but they were always beautiful stories that not only explained phenomenons but related to the lives of everyone. Well...then along came science and ruined it all. Now I know the life of a star, what is really is, and the fact that there is nothing magical about it. Artemis' nymphs were not turned to doves and sent to the heavens by Zeus...no no. And, staying with Greek mythology, Artemis did not accidently slay Orion (thanks to her jealous brother Apollo) so that he too was placed among the stars with his hounds and the animals of the chase.

2. I have covered this topic before, but...the heart is another. I mean, really. Do you know how awful it is to learn that your heart really doesn't control your emotions, but your blood flow? It's horrible.One of life's many disappointements, I suppose.

3. Mythological creatures. This can include the tooth fairy, Santa Claus, unicorns, dragons, griffins, etc. etc. Being the fantasy buff that I am, I am obsessed with things like this and they are often included in each and every one of my stories. Who cares what science says? Science stinks. Let me have my imagination without glowering fiercely and snapping, "There's no such thing!!" Crikey.

4. Going along with #3 is also magic. Science waltzes in with it big, burly voice and booms, "There is no evidence of 'magic'. There is a rational explanation for everything." bah humbug.

I suppose what science really does is just dulls down the romantic, magical effect of everything. Grr.

Onto logical truth. I am talking about things like the fact that humanity is greedy, self-serving, and full of those damn republicans (kidding, kidding, don't lynch me). I'm the type who's self-sacrificing and, truthfully, I would put others before myself. Another reason to become a journalist; I have about a million, but this particular one has to do with my own life. To quote Spider-Man, because I am that geeky, "With great power comes great responsibility." Well, when you have the power over words and the power to influence what and how people think, that's a great power you weild indeed. I mean think about it. If the media tells you that Saddam Hussein is evil, and that he did this and that, most believe it all without question, right? And the propaganda...ugh. Don't even get me started on all of that shit. To me, it's like this: with the kind of journalism I want to do, I will be covering the types of problems and plagues that effect many more people than just a small handful who feel like bitching about how bad their middle class lives are. I'm going to be out in third world countries and out in countries like Iraq in times of war. My view on this? Basically, the news has to get across to the people and in a truthful manner. Do you realize how many lives are saved because we have the media? there are hundreds of ways in which this is accomplished, as well. Putting my ass on the line, one life, and saving hundreds, or thousands because of it is more than worth it to me. If I have to risk my own life to save even a seemingly insignificent amount of people, I will. Even if it were only one other person I would put them before myself without second thought (granted they didn't piss me off to horribly, hehehe. Kidding, of course..). So that's what I think...and I got way off track.

Back to the truth. I like to look at the world through my rose colored glasses, I like to think that maybe people aren't so simple and self-serving as they're made out to be. And then I realize...yes they are. The numbers who actually care are only dwindling faster and faster. Everyone is becoming too involved with themselves and those they believe to be worthy. They turn their nose up at the rest of the world.

"I'm better than you...I don't live near you...I'm smarter than you. Why should I care?"

Ugh. Heartless bastards.

Heh...anyway! Moving along. My brother Britt called me today, and we had a nice chat about recent events in both of our lives and what life has been like. My family is taking a small trip to Oregon this summer, so if my brother has his much awaited for van by then he is going to meet us there, then come back to iowa with us for a visit. That'll be fun. I have too many places I have to go this summer, though....Idaho, the Black Hills, Oregon, and I think there might be a couple others...either way, I'd just like to stay home and lay out in the sun. that's what I did Sunday. Put on my nice red bikini and laid out on the patio. Not that it matters.

Well, I think I am going to go take my bath and get a little snack before it gets too late. Hasta luego!

Oreo

Back and Forth